A self-published author's diary, Friday Feature, podcast, Self publishing, Self-pub corner, writing

Feature Friday on the podcast: Talking with Katy Upperman about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects (+ Giveaway)

Today, I am very happy to wlecome my long-time critique partner (who I’m also very lucky to call friend) YA author Katy Upperman. And I’m also very happy to run a giveaway for one of Katy’s books…if you’re in the US you could even win a signed copy!

Katy Upperman is a military spouse and mama to two sweet girls, as well as two spoiled kitties and the cutest German Wirehaired Pointer around. Katy is an author, reader, baker, and wanderer. She writes novels for teens and teens at heart. She’s a Washington State University alum (go Cougs!), a country music fanatic, and a makeup enthusiast. She loves the ocean, pedicures, sunshine, Instagram, Dirty Dancing and The Princess Bride, Jelly Bellies, houseplants, true crime documentaries, and Friday Night Lights.

From Katy’s website: www.katyupperman.com

Before diving into our chat, let me give you a short update on my writing, and self-publishing.

Last week, I started by saying I really needed to leave the reviews for two books I really enjoyed: CINDERELLA IS DEAD (Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert) and for PRETTY LITTLE WIFE (Darby Kane thrills with this twisty domestic suspense novel that asks one central question: Shouldn’t a dead husband stay dead?) … And I did. Well, I did because I just re-read my blog post while writing this one and it reminded me I needed to do it.

I had not written it on my to-do list. My to-do list right now is basically: catch up on my freelance work. I may have mentioned it but I work as a freelance researcher and audiobook narrator, in addition to my writing. And I have upcoming deadlines. So, in terms of self-publishing, in the past week I’ve made sure to keep up with my newsletter and to put up the final manuscript of EINE ZWEITE CHANCE (Always Second Best in German) on Amazon.

In my newsletter, I sent behind-the-scenes on #TheLeftoverBride which was really fun to write about and following L. Penelope’s example in her welcome email, I also recorded a video of that newsletter so if people wanted to listen or watch a video instead of reading my newsletter, then they could. 🙂 In the podcast I share a tiny excerpt of the video…

Giveaway time!

Do you want to win one of Katy Upperman’s books? (Signed for the US) Just hop on to my giveaway: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/35c42cc23/?

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Talking about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects

Today on the podcast (Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts and more), YA contemporary romance author Katy Upperman (author of KISSING MAX HOLDEN, THE IMPOSSIBILITY OF US & HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN) talks about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects. We also talk about her life list, how she pushes through difficult times in her writing and/or publishing and whether or not she thought about self-publishing. Oh and we may spend a few minutes on true crime documentaries. 🙂

When it comes to my self-publishing and writing update: Another busy week with my freelance projects. I work as a freelance researcher and an audiobook narrator. And this hasn’t left me a whole lot of time to get actual writing done on the page. However, I use every moment possible to think and organize my thoughts about certain scenes I still need to revise.

For the business side of self-publishing, I have sent several newsletters – including a Behind-The-Scenes for #TheLeftoverBride with a video (following L. Penelope’s example). On the podcast, I also talk a bit about social media and author branding…

Do you have a question for me about self-publishing or writing?

Record a message for me and I’ll answer directly on the podcast and in my weekly “A Self-Published Author’s Diary” email.

Thank you!

Thank you so much to everyone who has listened and subscribed to my podcast. Don’t hesitate to leave a review and subscribe on Apple Podcasts, follow on Spotify or Google Podcasts

And thank you to everyone who’s already added #THELEFTOVERBRIDE on Goodreads and those of you who already pre-ordered it (on Amazon, iTunes, Kobo).

I’ve also been sharing little snippets with everyone who has left a comment on my Facebook Author Page and/or Facebook readers’ group. I will also do the same with my readers’ mailing list and Instagram.

Bonus scenes, anyone?

If you’ve read any of my books and would like to receive some exclusive bonus scenes, don’t hesitate to sign up for my newsletter. 🙂

I have two newsletters!

(1) My weekly self-publishing emails: A Self-published author’s diary…

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

(2) A newsletter for my readers: full of bonus scenes, updates on my books, shows I’m watching, books I’m reading, exclusive giveaways and more…

Click on this link and just add your email and you’ll receive access to a page full of exclusive content! Plus my emails include pictures of my cat and my dog…and they’re pretty adorable…:-)

Follow me on Instagram – Bookbub – Facebook – Twitter – Goodreads TikTok

Ep. 33 – Why the Chemical Engineer was right and the hardest part about writing & self-publishing #TheLefoverBride A self-published author's diary

Today, I share why the Chemical Engineer was right and how I didn't listen to him but listened to L. Penelope. 🙂 It's related to the formatting of the #TheLeftoverBride title and how to make it more "searchable". I also answer questions from Sam (on Instagram) who asked: what was the hardest part about writing #TheLeftoverBride? I added the hardest part about self-publishing it… I go more into details about: The revision process (cutting and reworking the beginning) Deepening and adjusting the character arc for Ryan Writing steamy scenes, ensuring lots of emotions. Managing expectations… Next week, I'll talk about book translations/marketing, don't hesitate to ask me a question per email or record a question… Grab a copy of #TheLeftoverBride: https://amzn.to/3i3SDXj Visit my website: http://www.elodienowodazkij.com  Subscribe to my readers' newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/elodienowodazkij/website  Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/aselfpublishedauthorsdiary/ — This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app — Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/elodie-nowodazkij/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/elodie-nowodazkij/support
  1. Ep. 33 – Why the Chemical Engineer was right and the hardest part about writing & self-publishing #TheLefoverBride
  2. #TheLeftoverBride is out in the world! A recap a few days after publication…
  3. Ep. 31 – The jitters before publication and thinking about the next stories…
  4. Because Sometimes You Just Need to Ask About a Dog…(Bonus episode)
  5. Ep. 30 – Writing on the couch… Revising and editing in the chair. And finishing my book!

Comments put a smile on my face :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s