A self-published author's diary, Friday Feature, podcast, Self publishing, Self-pub corner, writing

Feature Friday on the podcast: Talking with Katy Upperman about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects (+ Giveaway)

Today, I am very happy to wlecome my long-time critique partner (who I’m also very lucky to call friend) YA author Katy Upperman. And I’m also very happy to run a giveaway for one of Katy’s books…if you’re in the US you could even win a signed copy!

Katy Upperman is a military spouse and mama to two sweet girls, as well as two spoiled kitties and the cutest German Wirehaired Pointer around. Katy is an author, reader, baker, and wanderer. She writes novels for teens and teens at heart. She’s a Washington State University alum (go Cougs!), a country music fanatic, and a makeup enthusiast. She loves the ocean, pedicures, sunshine, Instagram, Dirty Dancing and The Princess Bride, Jelly Bellies, houseplants, true crime documentaries, and Friday Night Lights.

From Katy’s website: www.katyupperman.com

Before diving into our chat, let me give you a short update on my writing, and self-publishing.

Last week, I started by saying I really needed to leave the reviews for two books I really enjoyed: CINDERELLA IS DEAD (Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert) and for PRETTY LITTLE WIFE (Darby Kane thrills with this twisty domestic suspense novel that asks one central question: Shouldn’t a dead husband stay dead?) … And I did. Well, I did because I just re-read my blog post while writing this one and it reminded me I needed to do it.

I had not written it on my to-do list. My to-do list right now is basically: catch up on my freelance work. I may have mentioned it but I work as a freelance researcher and audiobook narrator, in addition to my writing. And I have upcoming deadlines. So, in terms of self-publishing, in the past week I’ve made sure to keep up with my newsletter and to put up the final manuscript of EINE ZWEITE CHANCE (Always Second Best in German) on Amazon.

In my newsletter, I sent behind-the-scenes on #TheLeftoverBride which was really fun to write about and following L. Penelope’s example in her welcome email, I also recorded a video of that newsletter so if people wanted to listen or watch a video instead of reading my newsletter, then they could. 🙂 In the podcast I share a tiny excerpt of the video…

Giveaway time!

Do you want to win one of Katy Upperman’s books? (Signed for the US) Just hop on to my giveaway: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/35c42cc23/?

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Talking about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects

Today on the podcast (Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts and more), YA contemporary romance author Katy Upperman (author of KISSING MAX HOLDEN, THE IMPOSSIBILITY OF US & HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN) talks about being vulnerable in our writing, her love for the revision process and her dream projects. We also talk about her life list, how she pushes through difficult times in her writing and/or publishing and whether or not she thought about self-publishing. Oh and we may spend a few minutes on true crime documentaries. 🙂

When it comes to my self-publishing and writing update: Another busy week with my freelance projects. I work as a freelance researcher and an audiobook narrator. And this hasn’t left me a whole lot of time to get actual writing done on the page. However, I use every moment possible to think and organize my thoughts about certain scenes I still need to revise.

For the business side of self-publishing, I have sent several newsletters – including a Behind-The-Scenes for #TheLeftoverBride with a video (following L. Penelope’s example). On the podcast, I also talk a bit about social media and author branding…

Do you have a question for me about self-publishing or writing?

Record a message for me and I’ll answer directly on the podcast and in my weekly “A Self-Published Author’s Diary” email.

Thank you!

Thank you so much to everyone who has listened and subscribed to my podcast. Don’t hesitate to leave a review and subscribe on Apple Podcasts, follow on Spotify or Google Podcasts

And thank you to everyone who’s already added #THELEFTOVERBRIDE on Goodreads and those of you who already pre-ordered it (on Amazon, iTunes, Kobo).

I’ve also been sharing little snippets with everyone who has left a comment on my Facebook Author Page and/or Facebook readers’ group. I will also do the same with my readers’ mailing list and Instagram.

Bonus scenes, anyone?

If you’ve read any of my books and would like to receive some exclusive bonus scenes, don’t hesitate to sign up for my newsletter. 🙂

I have two newsletters!

(1) My weekly self-publishing emails: A Self-published author’s diary…

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

(2) A newsletter for my readers: full of bonus scenes, updates on my books, shows I’m watching, books I’m reading, exclusive giveaways and more…

Click on this link and just add your email and you’ll receive access to a page full of exclusive content! Plus my emails include pictures of my cat and my dog…and they’re pretty adorable…:-)

Follow me on Instagram – Bookbub – Facebook – Twitter – Goodreads TikTok

Ep. 19 – Getting your self-published books into the French-speaking market: a case study (mine) and finding a translator. And #TheLeftoverBride almost has a cover… A self-published author's diary

Today, I'm sharing some of what I've learned from my own data and experience when it comes to the French-speaking market for self-published books (in this case, mine): what vendors generate sells and revenue, what price point do I use, recouping investment. Before that, I also add a bit of info shared by the actress portraying Umma in Kim's Convenience in regards her crucial input for the food element to keep the authentacity (follow-up from last week's episode). I mention the following articles: Publishing Perspectives: As France is Fêted at Frankfurt, French Literary Agents Take Stock – https://publishingperspectives.com/2017/10/france-literary-agents-frankfurt-book-fair/ The Creative Penn: Tips For Translation, Self-Publishing, And Marketing In Foreign Languages With Nadine Mutas: https://www.thecreativepenn.com/2021/05/03/translation-and-marketing-in-foreign-languages/ The Creative Penn: How to Find the Right International Markets for Your Book: https://www.thecreativepenn.com/2014/01/23/international-markets/ I'm also explaining how I find translators to translate my books into French and share the job posting and questions that I I posted on Upwork for the translation of #TheLeftoverBride summary and title.  I'm also talking about making progress in my revision and the fact that I almost have a cover for #TheLeftoverBride. I've designed two different covers and I'm asking my readers in my readers' newsletter to help me choose. 🙂 Instagram for the podcast: http://www.instagram.com/aselfpublishedauthorsdiary YouTube channel for the podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJih-rMFJv6IwlV4eeWUUIg  Join my readers' newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/elodienowodazkij/website Don't hesitate to ask me a question: https://anchor.fm/elodie-nowodazkij/message  As always don't hesitate to check my website out: http://www.elodienowodazkij.com — This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/elodie-nowodazkij/support
  1. Ep. 19 – Getting your self-published books into the French-speaking market: a case study (mine) and finding a translator. And #TheLeftoverBride almost has a cover…
  2. Ep. 18 – Selling my books directly to readers, my expectations and that happy "I got that one paragraph" feeling from revising #TheLeftoverBride.
  3. Ep. 17 – Feature Friday: Talking with Ines Johnson about her success in self-publishing, how writing screenplays has influenced her writing, pen names going "wide" and advertising.
  4. Ep. 16 – Re-branding my Gavert City series with new covers…and doubts and making progress (+ answering questions from listeners :-))
  5. Ep. 15 – Feature Friday: Talking with Megan Carter on how acting may influence her writing, the similarities between acting and publishing, and roller coasters ( + Giveaway)

Comments put a smile on my face :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s